400+ Products Compared

Best Toothpaste Tablets of 2026: Do They Work? 6 Picks

By Maitiú at Dental Roundup, published September 26, 2026.

This page compares 6 products and quotes owners from r/PlasticFreeLiving and 5 other communities. Last revised September 26, 2026.

Weighed on published evidence, ADA guidance, and owner feedback. Independent, with no sponsored picks.

Affiliate Disclosure: This article contains affiliate links. If you buy through one, we may earn a commission at no additional cost to you. Commission rates are set by the retailer or brand, not by us; a higher rate never overrides our editorial standards. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Prices mentioned are approximate and were last checked as of September 26, 2026. They can change at any time, so the current price and availability shown at the linked retailer apply. Read our full affiliate disclosure

Quick Picks

Editor's Pick

Mouthology 10% Nano Hydroxyapatite Toothpaste Tablets

Fluoride-free brushers who want a stated 10% nHAp tablet with the maker's written dose and instructions

4.5
See Latest Price on Amazon →
Most Reviewed / Best-Studied nHAp

NOBS Toothpaste Tablets

Buyers who want the one nHAp tablet with a published enamel study, even a maker-funded lab one

4.6
See Latest Price on Amazon →
Best Value nHAp

Nudge 10% Nano Hydroxyapatite Toothpaste Tablets

Daily nHAp users who want the lowest cost per brushing

4.5
See Latest Price on Amazon →
Best Fluoride Tablet

The Humble Co. Toothpaste Tablets with Fluoride

Anyone who wants fluoride in tablet form

4.2
See Latest Price on Amazon →

Compare all 6 picks side by side ↓

Toothpaste tablets are dry, chewable bits of toothpaste: you bite one into a paste, then brush with a wet toothbrush. Do they work as well as a tube? For cleaning, the small, short trials say about as well: in a two-week trial of 40 adults, a fluoride tablet and a fluoride paste from the same brand showed no significant difference in plaque or gum scores. We found no human trial of any tablet with a cavity outcome, so cavity protection rests on what is inside the tablet, not the format. The complaint that keeps coming up, in studies and on Reddit, is texture.

Our top pick is Mouthology (10% nano-hydroxyapatite, or nHAp). NOBS is the only tablet here with a published enamel-protection study, a lab study its maker paid for. Nudge is the cheapest nHAp tablet per brushing. The Humble Co. is the one fluoride option, and if you are cavity-prone or your dentist wants you on fluoride, start there: at about 13 cents a brushing it is also the cheapest tablet here with an active ingredient. Bite suits a refillable-jar routine, and WELdental is the budget way to try the format, with no cavity-fighting ingredient. Prefer a tube? See our best fluoride toothpaste and best hydroxyapatite toothpaste roundups.

How we researched this page: We compared six tablets on active ingredient, ingredient list, maker instructions, Amazon rating and cost per brushing, and read the PubMed studies comparing tablets with paste. We read 34 Reddit threads in full, setting aside accounts that post the same brand plugs across unrelated forums; the “of 16” counts below come from the first 19 we read, 16 of them squarely about tablets. We did not test these products hands-on. We also considered Huppy (nHAp, higher price) and Unpaste (fluoride and fluoride-free versions).

At a glance:

PickBest forActivePriceRating
Mouthology · Editor’s PickA stated 10% nHAp tablet with written dose and instructionsNano-hydroxyapatite, 10% (maker FAQ)around $20 (60 tablets)4.5 (7,812, shared with the paste)
NOBS · Most Reviewed / Best-Studied nHApThe nHAp tablet with a published lab studyNano-hydroxyapatite, 5%around $20 (62 tablets)4.6 (9,568)
Nudge · Best Value nHApLowest nHAp cost per brushingNano-hydroxyapatite, “10%” in the namearound $19 (120 tablets)4.5 (1,276)
The Humble Co. · Best Fluoride TabletFluoride in tablet formSodium fluoride, 1,450 ppm (maker-stated)around $24 (180 tablets)4.2 (287)
Bite · Best Zero-Waste PackagingRefillable jar systemNano-hydroxyapatite, % not statedaround $25 (124 tablets)4.3 (802)
WELdental · Best Budget (cleaning only)Trying the format cheaplyNone (no fluoride, no nHAp)around $10 (120 tablets)4.3 (1,331)

Evidence Receipt

7 sources cited
  • A tablet did about as well as its paste twin on plaque and gums. In a small two-week trial of 40 adults, a Colgate fluoride tablet and Colgate fluoride paste showed no statistically significant difference in plaque or gum scores; users rated the tablet’s texture and foam worse, and cavities were not measured.
  • Wear depends on the formula, not the format. In a lab brushing study, Denttabs and Bite tablets wore dentin less than a low-abrasion paste (25.3 and 36.8 microns against 66.8), but a second lab study found wear “depends more on its composition than its form (paste or tablets).”
  • The one nHAp tablet enamel study we found is a lab study funded by the maker. A 5% nHAp tablet (NOBS) matched a 1,100 ppm fluoride paste at preventing demineralization of cow-enamel blocks in an artificial mouth; BIOM LLC, the company behind NOBS, funded it.
  • Texture is the complaint in research, too. Among 152 Denttabs users over one week, 59.9% disliked the texture.
  • Fluoride is the ADA’s line for cavity claims. The ADA’s toothpastes page says a toothpaste must contain fluoride to be ADA-Accepted for anticavity claims, and that abrasivity (RDA) values under its 250 ceiling cannot rank safety.
  • UK guidance gives a level to look for. The NHS says adults should use toothpaste with at least 1,350 ppm fluoride, and children of all ages can use family toothpaste at 1,350 to 1,500 ppm.

Mouthology Tablets: Editor’s Pick

Editor's Pick$10–$25

Mouthology 10% Nano Hydroxyapatite Toothpaste Tablets

Best for: Fluoride-free brushers who want a stated 10% nHAp tablet with the maker's written dose and instructions

4.5 (7,812 reviews)
  • 10% nano-hydroxyapatite, stated in Mouthology's FAQ
  • No fluoride and no SLS (sodium cocoyl glycinate is the foaming agent)
  • Xylitol and zinc citrate in the formula
  • 60 tablets in a glass jar, about 30 days of brushing
See Latest Price on Amazon →

(Affiliate link) · Free shipping on eligible Prime items

Why We Recommend It

Mouthology is our pick for a fluoride-free tablet because it states its dose in writing and documents how to use it. Its FAQ says “Mouthology tablets use 10% nano-hydroxyapatite,” the top figure any maker here states, and its instructions are the fullest of the six. The trade-offs are plain: Nudge states the same 10% for about half the cost per brushing, and NOBS is the tablet with a published enamel study. We found no study comparing 5% and 10% nHAp in a tablet, so the higher figure is a label difference, not a proven advantage.

The listing shows 4.5 stars across 7,812 ratings, but that pool is shared: the tablet is a size option on the same Amazon listing as Mouthology’s 4 oz paste, and most of the reviews we could see were tagged to the paste. Read the count as a brand signal, not a tablet verdict.

The base is calcium carbonate, silicon dioxide and sodium bicarbonate, with xylitol, stevia and zinc citrate. Mouthology’s instructions: “Pop one tablet in your mouth, chew it for a few seconds until it turns into a paste, then brush with a wet toothbrush for two minutes as normal.”

Key Features

  • 10% nano-hydroxyapatite, stated in the FAQ rather than on the ingredient panel
  • No fluoride, no SLS
  • 60 tablets; Mouthology says “one jar lasts approximately 30 days”
  • Glass jar the maker calls “fully recyclable and reusable”

Who It’s Best For

Fluoride-free brushers who want a stated 10% nHAp tablet with the maker’s dose and instructions in writing. If you are cavity-prone, read the fluoride section below first; The Humble Co. is the fluoride tablet here.

Potential Downsides

At about 33 cents a brushing, it is the priciest per use on this page. We found no study of this tablet and no Reddit discussion of it, so there is no community track record either way, and the Amazon rating pool includes the paste. Mouthology gives no age guidance for the tablets.

See Latest Price on Amazon →

(Affiliate link) · Free shipping on eligible Prime items


NOBS Tablets: Best-Studied nHAp

Most Reviewed / Best-Studied nHAp$10–$25

NOBS Toothpaste Tablets

Best for: Buyers who want the one nHAp tablet with a published enamel study, even a maker-funded lab one

4.6 (9,568 reviews)
  • 5% nano-hydroxyapatite on the ingredient list
  • No fluoride; no SLS (it uses sodium lauryl sulfoacetate, a different compound)
  • Xylitol, zinc citrate and licorice in the formula
  • 62 tablets in an airtight glass jar, about one month
See Latest Price on Amazon →

(Affiliate link) · Free shipping on eligible Prime items

Why We Recommend It

NOBS is the only tablet here with a published enamel-protection study. In a lab study funded by BIOM LLC, the company behind NOBS, its 5% nHAp tablet cut demineralization of cow-enamel blocks by about 52%, against about 51% for a 1,100 ppm fluoride paste (an ordinary U.S. strength, below the NHS adult minimum of 1,350 ppm) and about 22% for a placebo tablet. That is an artificial mouth, not people, and it measured prevention of mineral loss, not repair, but no other tablet here has even that.

It also has the most ratings on this page: 4.6 stars across 9,568. NOBS states an abrasivity (RDA) of 21.38 but names no lab, standard or date, and the ADA says RDA values under 250 cannot rank safety, so we don’t lean on it.

Key Features

  • “Calcium Hydroxyapatite (Nanohydroxyapatite 5%)” on the ingredient list
  • No SLS; sodium lauryl sulfoacetate and sodium cocoyl isethionate are the foaming agents
  • 62 tablets, about a month of twice-daily brushing
  • The page warns its xylitol “can be toxic to pets”

Who It’s Best For

Buyers who want some published data behind their nHAp tablet and accept that it is a maker-funded lab study. On kids, NOBS’s FAQ tells parents to “monitor and ensure that your child can chew and swallow safely before introducing them to NOBS.”

Potential Downsides

Five percent is half what Mouthology and Nudge state. One r/PlasticFreeLiving commenter wrote: “Unfortunately, it only contains 5% hydroxyapatite, rather than 10% which was the amount used in the scientific studies.” Those were paste studies, and we found no 5%-versus-10% comparison, so treat it as an open question.

In one r/Teeth thread asking whether NOBS causes pain, several commenters reported tooth pain or new cavities after switching. One wrote, “Yes. I’ve been using NOBS for a little over 2 months and a few nights ago I experienced a throbbing pain in my teeth and gums.” The same commenter later reported two fillings and no further pain. Anecdotes can’t show the tablets caused it, but they are worth knowing.

One buying note: on our reads of October 4, 7 and 8, 2026, Amazon’s page for the 62-tablet jar showed no Add to Cart button. The jar was still for sale at $19.99 behind the page’s “See All Buying Options” link.

See Latest Price on Amazon →

(Affiliate link) · Free shipping on eligible Prime items


Nudge Tablets: Best Value nHAp

Best Value nHAp$10–$25

Nudge 10% Nano Hydroxyapatite Toothpaste Tablets

Best for: Daily nHAp users who want the lowest cost per brushing

4.5 (1,276 reviews)
  • Nano-hydroxyapatite, with 10% in the product name
  • No fluoride, no SLS (sodium cocoyl glutamate is the foaming agent)
  • 120 tablets, about two months of twice-daily brushing
  • Recyclable aluminum packaging
See Latest Price on Amazon →

(Affiliate link) · Free shipping on eligible Prime items

Why We Recommend It

Nudge is the cheapest nHAp tablet per brushing here: 120 tablets for around $19, about 16 cents a brushing, which Nudge says “covers brushing twice a day for about two months.” It advertises 10% nano-hydroxyapatite in the name, alongside erythritol, xylitol, calcium carbonate, sodium bicarbonate and zinc citrate.

The instructions: “Chew a single tablet with your front teeth until it forms a soft minty paste,” then brush for two minutes, one tablet morning and night. The packaging is “recyclable aluminum instead of a plastic tube,” in Nudge’s words.

Key Features

  • Nano-hydroxyapatite; “10%” in the name and feature block
  • No fluoride; no SLS or SDS
  • 120 tablets in a recyclable aluminum container

Who It’s Best For

People who use nHAp twice a day and want the lowest running cost. It holds 4.5 stars across 1,276 ratings, all on this tablet listing.

Potential Downsides

The 10% sits in the product name, not beside the ingredient on the panel, so it is Nudge’s claim rather than a label figure. We found no study of this tablet and no Reddit discussion of it; Nudge’s own blog introduces the tablets as a new line. Nudge calls every product “kids-friendly” but gives no age guidance for the tablets.

See Latest Price on Amazon →

(Affiliate link) · Free shipping on eligible Prime items


Humble Co. Tablets: Best Fluoride Tablet

Best Fluoride Tablet$10–$25

The Humble Co. Toothpaste Tablets with Fluoride

Best for: Anyone who wants fluoride in tablet form

4.2 (287 reviews)
  • Sodium fluoride 0.32% (1,450 ppm), as stated by the maker
  • No SLS (sodium cocoyl isethionate is the foaming agent)
  • 180 tablets (three packs of 60) on the Amazon listing
  • Xylitol, stevia and licorice extract in the formula
See Latest Price on Amazon →

(Affiliate link) · Free shipping on eligible Prime items

Why We Recommend It

The Humble Co. is the one fluoride tablet in our lineup. Humble’s page reads “Active Ingredient: Sodium Fluoride 0.32% (1450 ppm).” If your dentist wants you on fluoride, that outweighs everything else here: the ADA requires fluoride for a toothpaste’s anticavity Seal claim. The FDA’s anticavity monograph sets its fluoride ranges for paste, gel and powder, not tablets, so we report Humble’s figure as the maker states it.

It is also cheap to run. The Amazon listing is three packs of 60, 180 tablets, about 13 cents a brushing and roughly three months for one person. Humble’s instructions: “bite 1 tablet and chew it into small pieces,” brush with a wet toothbrush twice daily, and “Do not swallow.”

Key Features

  • Sodium fluoride 0.32% (1,450 ppm), maker-stated
  • No SLS, parabens or dyes, per the maker
  • 180 tablets on the Amazon listing (the maker’s page gives no count)
  • The brand describes the tablets as plastic-free

Who It’s Best For

Anyone who wants a tablet without giving up fluoride. One r/PlasticFreeLiving commenter summed up the appeal: “The humble co. Has tabs with fluoride and it’s all cardboard packaging!”

Potential Downsides

The forum read is split. A commenter on r/sustainability wrote, “They didn’t dissolve, I always had some pieces and grit in my mouth.” One on r/ZeroWaste said the tablets “made my teeth really sensitive” and stopped. July 2026 reviews on Humble’s own site describe a reformulation, calling it “painfully minty” and “chalky,” so older reviews may describe a different formula. The Amazon score rests on 287 ratings, under a thousand, a thinner signal. Humble gives no age guidance for these tablets, and its fluoride-free tablet is a different product.

See Latest Price on Amazon →

(Affiliate link) · Free shipping on eligible Prime items


Bite Tablets: Best Zero-Waste Packaging

Best Zero-Waste Packaging$10–$25

Bite Whitening Toothpaste Tablets

Best for: Zero-waste households who want a refillable jar system

4.3 (802 reviews)
  • Nano-hydroxyapatite and xylitol, no fluoride
  • No SLS (sodium cocoyl glutamate is the foaming agent)
  • Bite's system: refillable glass jar plus compostable refill pouches
  • Amazon pack: two bottles, 124 tablets
See Latest Price on Amazon →

(Affiliate link) · Free shipping on eligible Prime items

Why We Recommend It

Bite built its brand around the refill: on its own site it sells its tablets, which it calls Bits, in a refillable glass jar with refills in compostable pouches. If cutting packaging is your main reason to switch, that system is the draw, with one catch: the refill pouches are sold on Bite’s site, and the Amazon pack we link is two bottles. The listing we link is the fluoride-free version: hydroxyapatite (nano), xylitol, erythritol, calcium carbonate (“a mild abrasive,” per Bite), silicon dioxide and sodium bicarbonate, no SLS. Bite does not state its nHAp percentage.

Bite is one of the two tablets in a lab brushing study that wore dentin less than a low-abrasion paste, 36.8 microns against 66.8. That was a 2021 test, and we could not confirm it used today’s fluoride-free formula.

Key Features

  • No fluoride on this listing; Bite sells a separate fluoride version
  • Two bottles, 124 tablets, about 62 days for one person
  • “Gently chew 1 Toothpaste Bit until it turns into a soft powder,” then brush with a wet toothbrush for two minutes

Who It’s Best For

Zero-waste households ready to buy into a refill system. Bite drew the most genuine discussion of any tablet brand in the Reddit threads we read, and some of it is warm. One r/ZeroWaste commenter wrote: “I have sensitive teeth. Water has to be room temperature, can’t bite into ice cream, this toothpaste works for me. They’re still a tad sensitive but not as much compared when I used sensodyne and the colegate sensitive one.”

Potential Downsides

In the first 19 threads we read, we counted 12 complaint comments about Bite against 8 praise. In one r/ZeroWaste thread, a commenter wrote, “I have sensitive teeth along my upper gum lines and Bite made it worse,” and another reported gingivitis after two months that cleared once they switched back to regular toothpaste. Bite has sold fluoride and fluoride-free versions and commenters disagree about which is which, so read these as brand-level reports. The score rests on 802 ratings, under a thousand, a thinner signal. The 124-tablet Amazon pack doesn’t match a pack on Bite’s own site. Bite says its tablets “should not be given to children under the age of three or anyone with a higher risk of choking.”

See Latest Price on Amazon →

(Affiliate link) · Free shipping on eligible Prime items


WELdental: Best Budget Cleaning Tablet

Best Budget (cleaning only)Under $10

WELdental Chew Brush Smile Toothpaste Tablets

Best for: Trying the tablet format cheaply, with a fluoride or nHAp product elsewhere in your routine

4.3 (1,331 reviews)
  • No fluoride and no hydroxyapatite: a cleaning tablet only
  • 120 tablets at about 8 cents a brushing
  • No SLS (sodium cocoyl isethionate is the foaming agent)
  • Made in California, in an aluminum container
See Latest Price on Amazon →

(Affiliate link) · Free shipping on eligible Prime items

Why We Recommend It

WELdental is the cheapest way to find out whether you can live with tablets: 120 for around $10, about 8 cents a brushing. The formula is maltitol, xylitol, calcium phosphate, calcium carbonate, sodium bicarbonate and silica, SLS-free and made in California.

Be clear about what it is: there is no fluoride and no hydroxyapatite. Calcium phosphate is listed, but WELdental doesn’t call it an active. This is a cleaning tablet, not a cavity-prevention product.

Key Features

  • No fluoride, no nHAp, no stated active ingredient
  • 120 tablets, about 60 days of twice-daily brushing
  • Aluminum container

Who It’s Best For

People who want to try the texture before paying 16 to 33 cents a brushing for an nHAp tablet, or who want a light travel option and use a fluoride toothpaste at home. One commenter on r/JMT wrote:

I like the Weldental type. “Chew Brush Smile.” I haven’t bought a tube of toothpaste in years!

Potential Downsides

Nothing in this tablet is there to fight cavities. As your only toothpaste, you would be brushing without the ingredient the ADA requires for an anticavity claim. We couldn’t find WELdental’s instructions for use or any age guidance for these tablets.

See Latest Price on Amazon →

(Affiliate link) · Free shipping on eligible Prime items


Cost Per Brushing

Our figures divide the listing price by the tablet count, one tablet per brushing; days assume one person brushing twice a day. Prices move, so treat these as approximations.

TabletPriceTabletsPer brushingDays (twice daily)
Mouthologyaround $2060about 33 cents30
NOBSaround $2062about 32 cents31
Bitearound $25124about 20 cents62
Nudgearound $19120about 16 cents60
The Humble Co.around $24180 (Amazon listing count)about 13 cents90
WELdentalaround $10120about 8 cents60

Cost is a pain point in 14 of the 16 threads. Colgate’s own consumer page on tablets estimates “around $30 for a four-month supply of tabs,” against “$3-6 for a 6 oz tube.” That is Colgate’s 2023 figure for tablets in general, not our lineup, but it shows why tablets feel expensive. The spread within tablets is wide. The cheapest, WELdental, gives up the cavity-fighting ingredient to get there; the cheapest with an active ingredient is the fluoride tablet from The Humble Co.

Do Toothpaste Tablets Work?

For cleaning, the early evidence says yes. Beyond the two-week adult trial above, a 4-week comparison in 100 children aged 8 to 12 found a chewable tablet and a conventional paste “equally effective in plaque removal,” though the authors note the study “was conducted with a limited sample size.” The largest tablet study we found, 196 people, compared two tablet brands: both reduced plaque, but with no paste arm it can’t say whether tablets match paste. None of the six tablets on this page was in any of these trials.

For cavities, we found no trials. We found no human trial of any tablet, fluoride or nHAp, that measured cavities, and no study of how much fluoride a tablet releases compared with paste. Colgate says on its own consumer page that “Not a lot of research has been conducted to compare the effectiveness of toothpaste tablets to traditional toothpaste.” Dr James Fernando of the Melbourne Dental School told The Guardian in 2021, “There’s a lack of scientific evidence on how good toothpaste tablets are, in terms of oral health,” a comment that predates most of these studies.

The formula decides. A commenter on r/ZeroWaste who identifies as a dentist, writing about a fluoride-free tab: “I wish these worked, but as a dentist, I find them a gimick. They don’t have cavity fighting agents or anti-inflammatory agents unfortunately. A bit of flouride or HydroxyApatite (as a substitute to flouride)would have been great.” For nHAp tablets, the only enamel-protection study we found is the maker-funded NOBS lab study; we found no human trial of any nHAp tablet.

Watch for charcoal. Abrasion varies by formula, and in a study on tooth-colored fillings, charcoal toothpaste tablets had the most negative effect on resin composite surfaces. A commenter on r/ZeroWaste who identifies as a dental assistant also singled out charcoal: “I’m specifically referring to the charcoal in it being abrasive.” None of our six is a charcoal formula.

Texture is the real hurdle. It is a make-or-break complaint in 12 of the 16 threads. One r/ZeroWaste commenter’s advice: “Crunch them in between your teeth, and with a little water they become paste. They don’t foam but you get used to that.”

Fluoride or Hydroxyapatite Tablets?

Whether a tablet has fluoride, or a hydroxyapatite substitute, is the buying question in 15 of the 16 threads.

Fluoride has the longer record. The ADA’s fluoride topic page explains that it forms calcium fluorapatite, “which is more resistant to acid attacks.” In this lineup, only The Humble Co. has it.

Nano-hydroxyapatite is the main fluoride-free alternative, but its cavity evidence comes from paste, not tablets. An 18-month adult trial, funded by the hydroxyapatite toothpaste maker Dr. Kurt Wolff, which employed three of its co-authors, found a 10% hydroxyapatite paste (the paper does not say nano) not statistically inferior to 1,450 ppm fluoride paste on a wide 20% margin. An independent review of under-25s found no significant difference between the two in new or worsening cavities, but only 4 of 68 studies qualified. And one study in volunteers’ mouths found a fluoride-free nHA paste did not hamper demineralization. A hygienist on r/DentalHygiene (flair: Dental Hygienist, CDHC), on nHAp paste: “Best I can agree to is that it works, but is it 1:1 with fluoride? Only time will tell, and it’s going to take awhile to show that.” Our best fluoride-free toothpaste page goes deeper.

If you get cavities, the routes are: The Humble Co. tablet; Bite’s separate fluoride version, sold on Bite’s own site; or a fluoride paste at home with a tablet kept for travel. A commenter on r/ZeroWaste who identifies as a hygienist put the waste argument bluntly: “Yes, as a hygienist and a person into science, this drives me nuts. Plus, the amount of plastic, metal etc. that is thrown away after even one filling, plus the sterilization papers and energy appointment is going to undo all that avoidance of a tube of toothpaste carefully applied.”

Kids. We only repeat the makers’ words. Bite: not under three or anyone at higher risk of choking. NOBS: make sure a child can chew and swallow safely first. Mouthology, Nudge and The Humble Co. give no age guidance for these tablets, and we found none for WELdental. The American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry says “Fluoride has proven to be an effective therapy in reducing the prevalence of dental caries in infants, children, adolescents, and persons with special needs,” so ask your child’s dentist before choosing a fluoride-free tablet.

Community vs. Evidence

TopicWhat Reddit saysWhat the evidence says
Fluoride or notThe top buying filter, in 15 of 16 threads; some fluoride-free users report first cavities or gum troubleWe found no human cavity trial of any tablet; the ADA requires fluoride for an anticavity Seal claim
TextureA make-or-break complaint in 12 of 16 threads59.9% of Denttabs users disliked the texture; adults rated tablet texture and foam worse than paste
CostA pain point in 14 of 16 threadsOur math: about 8 to 33 cents a brushing across these six
AbrasionCharcoal is the named worry, in 3 of 16 threadsTwo tablets wore dentin less than a low-abrasion paste in the lab; charcoal tablets were worst on fillings

Who Tablets Suit, and Who Should Skip

  • Travelers. No liquids at security is the reason to switch in 7 of the 16 threads.
  • Anyone who finds a tube hard to use. One r/ZeroWaste commenter wrote: “Accessibility. I’m blind and have limited mobility. And while I technically “can” put toothpaste on the toothbrush, it’s a huge hassle, and tabs make it a lot easier to brush my teeth.”
  • People who dislike foam. Every tablet here is SLS-free, and low foam is one of the most common forum observations about tablets; for some readers with sensory sensitivities that is the point.
  • Skip them if you can’t chew comfortably, have a strong gag reflex, or are choosing for a small child: Bite says not under three or anyone at higher risk of choking, and NOBS says to make sure a child can chew and swallow safely first. All six list xylitol, so keep jars away from dogs and cats.

How to Choose Toothpaste Tablets

  • Active ingredient first. Fluoride, nano-hydroxyapatite, or nothing. A tablet with neither, like WELdental, cleans but isn’t built to fight cavities.
  • Fluoride or not. If you are cavity-prone, keeping fluoride is the cautious choice; if you go fluoride-free, look for a stated nHAp percentage.
  • Foam. Every tablet here skips SLS. In an 8-week trial of 120 people, SLS-free paste worked as well on plaque and gum bleeding, but people preferred the SLS paste’s foam. See our best SLS-free toothpaste page for why some avoid it.
  • Cost per brushing. Divide price by count; the six here run about 8 to 33 cents.
  • Packaging. Glass, aluminum and refill pouches cut plastic, but a tube lasts months. For an ingredient-first view, see our best natural toothpaste roundup.
  • Kids and choking. Follow each maker’s age wording and keep jars out of reach.
  • Travel. Travel is a reason to switch in 7 of the 16 threads; pair tablets with a travel electric toothbrush for a compact kit.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is there a toothpaste tablet for sensitive teeth?

Not one built for it. None of the six ingredient lists includes potassium nitrate or stannous fluoride, the two actives sensitivity pastes use, and the forum reports point both ways: one Bite user with sensitive teeth found it helped, another said Bite made sensitivity worse, and one Humble Co. user stopped over new sensitivity. If sensitivity is your main problem, start with our best toothpaste for sensitive teeth guide.

Why do my toothpaste tablets look fuzzy?

It is usually the mint. One r/PlasticFreeLiving commenter answered the mold worry directly: “Completely normal. We’ve been using toothpaste tablets for years and they often arrive like this sealed. It’s menthol recrystallizing.” In the same thread, another commenter quoted Bite’s own FAQ giving the same explanation.

Do you chew toothpaste tablets or dissolve them in water?

You chew them. The four makers that publish written instructions (Mouthology, Nudge, Bite and The Humble Co.) all say to chew one tablet first, into a paste, a powder or small pieces, then brush; Mouthology, Bite and The Humble Co. specify a wet toothbrush.

Can you cut a toothpaste tablet in half?

We found no study of half tablets, and the four makers that publish written instructions all call for one tablet per brushing. Some go the other way: one r/ZeroWaste commenter found Bite’s tablets too small and wrote, “I usually end up using two to offset this a bit and then it is twice as expensive.”

Are toothpaste tablets approved by the ADA?

We found no toothpaste tablet among the ADA Seal products we could check. The ADA requires fluoride for a toothpaste to earn its Seal for anticavity claims, so the fluoride-free tablets here could not earn it for an anticavity claim.

Are toothpaste tablets safe around dogs?

All six tablets here list xylitol, and NOBS’s page warns that xylitol “can be toxic to pets,” so keep jars where pets can’t reach them. Pet worries come up in 4 of the 16 threads; one Bite user wrote, “I stopped using them only because they’re toxic to animals and we have several.”

Compare Our Top Picks

ProductBest ForKey FeatureRatingPrice
Mouthology 10% Nano Hydroxyapatite Toothpaste TabletsOur Pick
Best ForFluoride-free brushers who want a stated 10% nHAp tablet with the maker's written dose and instructionsKey Feature10% nano-hydroxyapatite (stated in Mouthology's FAQ) with xylitol and zinc citrate, no SLSRating:
4.5
Price:
NOBS Toothpaste Tablets
Best ForBuyers who want the one nHAp tablet with a published enamel study, even a maker-funded lab oneKey Feature5% nano-hydroxyapatite, the formula in the only published enamel-protection study of an nHAp tablet we foundRating:
4.6
Price:
Nudge 10% Nano Hydroxyapatite Toothpaste Tablets
Best ForDaily nHAp users who want the lowest cost per brushingKey Feature120 nano-hydroxyapatite tablets at about 16 cents a brushingRating:
4.5
Price:
The Humble Co. Toothpaste Tablets with Fluoride
Best ForAnyone who wants fluoride in tablet formKey FeatureSodium fluoride 0.32% (1,450 ppm, as stated by the maker), no SLSRating:
4.2
Price:
Bite Whitening Toothpaste Tablets
Best ForZero-waste households who want a refillable jar systemKey FeatureFluoride-free nano-hydroxyapatite tablets from a brand built on refillable glass jars and compostable refill pouchesRating:
4.3
Price:
WELdental Chew Brush Smile Toothpaste Tablets
Best ForTrying the tablet format cheaply, with a fluoride or nHAp product elsewhere in your routineKey Feature120 tablets at about 8 cents a brushing, with no fluoride and no hydroxyapatiteRating:
4.3
Price:

Still deciding?

Our #1 pick: Mouthology 10% Nano Hydroxyapatite Toothpaste Tablets

Top-rated for: Fluoride-free brushers who want a stated 10% nHAp tablet with the maker's written dose and instructions

See Latest Price on Amazon →

(Affiliate link) · Free shipping on eligible Prime items

Popular on Dental Roundup