The short answer
Headline prices may not include bone grafting, extractions, or imaging, so ask for an itemized quote. The both-arches figure is our doubling of ClearChoice's per-arch range, not a price anyone quotes.
Prices: ClearChoice's published prices; CareCredit (ASQ360° 2024). Both arches: our arithmetic. Healing time: Cleveland Clinic.
The Short Answer
The cost of full mouth dental implants typically runs $14,000 to $36,000 per arch for a fixed full-arch restoration and $8,000 to $13,500 per arch for custom-made implant (snap-in) dentures, according to ClearChoice’s cost guide and pricing page. Those are an implant provider’s own 2025 prices, not a neutral survey. Aspen Dental publishes a narrower band for fixed full arches: an average of $19,979 per arch, within $19,315 to $30,878. CareCredit puts All-on-4 at a national average of $15,176 ($11,640 to $27,500), without saying whether that is one arch or both. Upper and lower together come to roughly $28,000 to $72,000 (twice that fixed per-arch range, our arithmetic). The wide range depends on which procedure you choose (All-on-4, All-on-6, or implant-supported overdentures), the materials used, and whether you need preparatory work like bone grafting.
For a broader overview that also covers single-tooth and bridge-supported implants, see our complete dental implants cost guide. If you only need one tooth replaced, our single dental implant cost guide breaks down every component.
According to the American College of Prosthodontists, approximately 2.3 million implant-supported crowns are made each year.
Full-Mouth Implant Options Compared
The three main approaches to full-mouth implant restoration differ significantly in cost, maintenance, and how they feel day to day. Understanding these differences is essential before committing to a treatment plan.
| Procedure | Cost | How It Works | Pros | Cons | Best For |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fixed full arch (4–6 implants, e.g. All-on-4 / All-on-6) | $14,000–$36,000 per arch (ClearChoice); $19,979 average per arch (Aspen Dental) | 4–6 implant posts support a fixed, screw-retained bridge | Feels most like natural teeth; no removal at home; strong bite force | Harder to clean underneath; more expensive; requires adequate bone | Most patients seeking a permanent, fixed solution |
| Implant-Supported Overdentures | $8,000–$13,500 per arch (ClearChoice) | 2–6 implant posts with snap-on or bar-retained removable denture | Easier to clean; lower cost; can be upgraded later | Must be removed for cleaning; attachments wear over time; can feel bulky | Budget-conscious patients or those who prefer removable options |
| Traditional Dentures (comparison) | $1,115–$2,540 per full arch (Delta Dental) | Removable prosthetic with no implant support | Lowest upfront cost; no surgery | Can slip; adhesive required; no jawbone preservation, which Cleveland Clinic lists as an implant benefit | Temporary solution or patients who cannot have surgery |
A key distinction that trips up many patients: All-on-4 is fixed (screwed in by your dentist, not removable at home), while overdentures are removable (you snap them in and out daily for cleaning). In online dental communities, patients regularly report confusion between these options—some only realize which they agreed to after treatment has started. For a complete breakdown of the All-on-4 procedure and pricing, see our All-on-4 cost guide.
“Is the restoration you're recommending fixed (screw-retained, only removable by a dentist) or removable (snap-in, I take it out daily)?”
Patients regularly report not realizing which type they agreed to until after treatment started.
What Drives the Cost Up (and Down)
Full-arch implant pricing varies widely, even within a single provider’s published per-arch range, and patients in online communities regularly report receiving quotes that differ by tens of thousands of dollars for what sounds like the same treatment. Here are the factors behind that variation.
Materials: Zirconia vs. Acrylic
The final prosthesis material is a major cost variable:
- Acrylic (PMMA): The standard material for temporary prosthetics and some final restorations. More affordable, easier to repair, but less durable and more prone to staining over time.
- Zirconia: A ceramic material that is stronger, more stain-resistant, and looks more like natural teeth. It costs more up front: in a 2020 study of 74 full-arch restorations (Barootchi et al.), a zirconia prosthesis cost an estimated $7,829 more to make than a metal-acrylic hybrid, though later maintenance and complication costs did not greatly differ because the zirconia bridges had fewer complications. ClearChoice prices its zirconia Endura arch at a nationwide average of $22,045 per arch. Many patients who have experienced both report that zirconia finals are worth the upgrade for aesthetics and durability.
Geographic Location
Where you live moves the price. A federal GAO analysis of dental insurance claims shows the gap for other procedures: in 2012 the midpoint fee for a molar root canal was $1,400 in New York City against $1,000 in Los Angeles and Chicago, and an adult cleaning ran $155 in New York against $76 in Nashville. Treat those old figures as a sense of the spread, not current prices, and compare quotes in more than one area if you can travel.
Additional Procedures
Many patients require preparatory work that adds significantly to the total bill; the chart below shows published ranges. A full-mouth extraction multiplies the per-tooth extraction price by the number of teeth remaining. Our bone graft cost guide breaks the graft tiers down further.
Temporary teeth, CT imaging, and sedation can also appear as separate line items; CareCredit’s cost tables put dental sedation at an average of $349 and anesthesia at $639. Some full-arch providers fold these into the headline price: ClearChoice counts the 3D CBCT scan, sedation, extractions (if needed) and day-one teeth in its per-arch price, its consultation (including the 3D CT scan) is free, and its Colorado price disclosure lists sedation and anesthesia at no additional charge within a full-arch plan. Ask which of these your quote includes.
Common add-on procedures
Source: CareCredit (graft), Zocdoc (sinus lift), Gentle Dental (extraction), Delta Dental of Colorado (temporary arch, discount-plan prices), NYU College of Dentistry (CT scan), CareCredit cost tables (CT average)
Provider Type
Oral surgeons, periodontists, and prosthodontists each bring different training and fee structures. Some patients have a single provider handle the entire process; others work with a surgical specialist for implant placement and a prosthodontist for the final restoration, which can add coordination costs.
Number of Implants
Despite the name, “All-on-4” doesn’t always mean exactly four implants. ClearChoice describes its fixed full arch as four to six implants, and Aspen Dental says 2 to 6 per arch; your count depends on your jaw, your bone, and the provider’s clinical judgment. More implants generally mean more stability, and higher cost.
What Patients Actually Paid
Published price ranges only go so far; the numbers patients report paying tell you more about what to expect at the consultation table. The figures below come from first-person accounts in dental communities (primarily r/dentures) between 2021 and 2026, collected for this guide’s research file. They are individual reports, not quotes you can hold a provider to, but the spread itself is the lesson.
| Reported by | Procedure | What they paid or were quoted |
|---|---|---|
| Patient, both arches | All-on-4 fixed | $27,000 at a national implant chain, financed at $490/month over 8 years |
| Patient, per arch | All-on-4 fixed, ceramic final | $20,000 after insurance |
| Patient, upper arch only | All-on-4 fixed | $20,000, financed by loan |
| Patient, one arch | Snap-in overdenture | $12,000 |
| Two patient reports | Snap-in overdentures | $13,000 quoted for both arches (a plan later declined); a separate report of $27,000 (arch count not specified) |
| One commenter | All-on-4 fixed | “Everyone I know paid 20-40K” (arch count not specified) |
| Detailed community breakdown, per arch | Snap-in overdenture | $6,000–$15,000 depending on implant count (2 vs 4–6) |
| Outlier | Complex full-mouth restoration (treatment mix unspecified) | $80,000+ at private practices, $100,000+ quoted at one dental school |
Two patterns worth carrying into your own consultations: quotes for what sounds like the same procedure can differ dramatically (one patient in our research file was quoted 3x a previous dentist’s number, with no cost breakdown provided), and the outlier cases tend to be complex restorations bundling grafting, sinus lifts, and specialist coordination rather than the standard All-on-4 protocol.
Does Insurance Cover Full-Mouth Implants?
In a word: barely. Dental benefits are capped well below the price of a full arch, and understanding the limits upfront can save you from unpleasant surprises.
- Annual maximums run $1,000–$2,500 on most plans: ADA News, citing NADP data, puts 32.8% of in-network maximums at $1,000–$1,500 and 48.2% at $1,500–$2,500. On a $30,000 arch, a $1,000–$2,500 maximum covers roughly 3–8% of the bill (our arithmetic).
- Coverage classification varies by plan. Some classify implants as a “major procedure”: Guardian says many full-coverage plans may cover 40–50% after deductibles, up to the annual max, and MetLife’s PPO may cover 50%. Others exclude implants entirely.
- Medical insurance may cover implant-related expenses if tooth loss resulted from an accident, trauma, or a qualifying medical condition, though this varies significantly by plan and requires documentation.
- Medicare generally does not cover dental implants. Some Medicare Advantage plans include limited dental benefits, but annual maximums still apply.
For patients considering their insurance options more broadly, our guide to the best dental and vision insurance bundles compares plans with the highest coverage caps.
How to Save on Full-Mouth Implants
At five figures per arch, full-arch implants are a large bill. These strategies can meaningfully reduce the cost without compromising on quality. Our guide to affordable dental implants covers the full set of affordability routes—provider types, assistance programs, and financing—in more depth.
Get Multiple Consultations
Price variation for full-arch work is extreme. Patients in dental communities report receiving very different quotes for the same procedure type; one patient in our research file was quoted 3x a previous dentist’s number. Visit at least three providers and request itemized breakdowns, not just a lump sum. Some offices advertise low headline prices that exclude bone grafting, imaging, sedation, or the final prosthesis.
“Can I get an itemized breakdown with procedure codes, including bone grafting, imaging, sedation, temporaries, and the final prosthesis?”
A low headline price can leave add-ons out, and they then show up as separate line items.
Consider Dental Schools
Accredited dental schools treat patients at reduced rates, with the work performed by students or residents under faculty supervision. How much lower varies by school and city: the University of Colorado’s dental school, for example, lists its clinic rates at typically 30–50% below area private practices, and Penn Dental Medicine puts its own costs at 50%–70% lower on average (each school’s own comparison). The trade-off is longer appointment times and a multi-month process. The ADA’s Commission on Dental Accreditation (CODA) maintains a list of accredited programs. Note: for complex full-arch cases, some dental schools quote higher than expected because they include extensive imaging, prosthetic design, and multiple specialist consultations that private offices may bundle differently; one patient in our research file was quoted over $100,000 at a dental school for a complex full-mouth restoration.
Stage the Treatment
If the full cost isn’t feasible right now, many patients choose a staged approach: get extractions and traditional dentures first, then transition to implant-supported overdentures or fixed implants later. In one account in our research file, a surgeon with 3,000+ implants’ experience told a patient “he thought she was making the right decision” to try dentures first and evaluate implants later.
If you choose this path, ask your surgeon about placing bone grafts during the initial extractions. Your jawbone shrinks after teeth are lost, and implants need enough jawbone to support them, with grafts used to build up areas of bone loss (Cleveland Clinic).
“If I start with dentures now, should we place bone grafts during the extractions to preserve my options for implants later?”
Your jawbone shrinks after teeth are lost, and implants need enough bone to anchor in (Cleveland Clinic).
Explore Financing Options
Many dental practices offer in-house payment plans or partner with third-party lenders such as CareCredit. ClearChoice, for example, advertises CareCredit plans with no interest if paid in full within 18 months on purchases of $200 or more. Be cautious with longer-term financing: one patient in our research file financed $27,000 for both arches at $490/month over 8 years, about $47,000 in payments (our arithmetic).
In dental communities, patients frequently recommend using a 0% APR credit card over CareCredit when possible, because of the deferred-interest term in that fine print: miss the payoff date and interest is charged from the purchase date.
Use a Dental Discount Plan
Dental discount plans (not insurance) provide reduced fees at participating providers for an annual or monthly membership fee. Unlike insurance, there is no annual maximum, no waiting period, and no claim forms. Aetna Vital Savings, for example, says members pay 15% to 50% less “in most cases” at participating providers, varying by provider and area. Check a plan’s fee schedule for implant procedures before you join. A network example: 1Dental’s plans start at $175/year (Affiliate link).
Health Savings and Flexible Spending Accounts
Dental implants are generally HSA/FSA-eligible, so you pay with pre-tax dollars. FSAFEDS, the federal employees’ FSA program, puts the average saving at 30 percent of eligible expenses. Your own rate depends on your bracket: on the IRS’s 2026 brackets, federal income tax plus the 7.65% employee payroll tax comes to about 20% in the 12% bracket and about 32% in the 24% bracket, before state tax (our arithmetic). HSA contributions made outside your paycheck skip income tax but not payroll tax (IRS Publication 969).
A Note on Dental Tourism
Travelling abroad for implant treatment is often priced well below US fees: Patients Beyond Borders, a company that connects patients with clinics abroad, cited by the Academy of General Dentistry in 2020, estimated that U.S. patients save 40%–65% on dental care in Mexico and 45%–65% in Costa Rica. However, full-arch cases involve months of healing, follow-up, adjustments, and potential complications. Managing these from another country introduces real logistical and clinical risks. Patients who pursue this route should factor in travel costs for multiple trips, verify provider credentials thoroughly, and have a plan for local follow-up care if complications arise.
Free and Very-Low-Cost Routes: What Actually Exists
A lot of people search for free or no-cost full-mouth implants near them, so the direct answer first: free full-arch implant treatment is rare, because the implant hardware, the prosthesis, and the surgical time all carry real costs that someone has to absorb. But several legitimate routes can bring the price down dramatically, and a few can cover care entirely for people who qualify.
- Medicaid: Adult dental coverage is optional for states, so what’s covered varies enormously by state. If you have Medicaid, ask specifically what your state’s adult dental benefit includes before assuming implants are in or out.
- Dental schools: The closest thing to a reliable discount route; see the dental-schools section above and the CODA program finder.
- Community health centers: HRSA-funded health centers charge on a sliding scale based on income. Services typically center on extractions, dentures, and general dentistry rather than implant surgery, but they are often the cheapest path to getting a failing dentition stabilized and a treatment plan written.
- Donated Dental Services (DDS): Dental Lifeline Network coordinates volunteer dentists and labs for people who are 65 or older, permanently disabled, or who need medically necessary dental care and have no other way to afford treatment. Waiting lists are real and implants are not guaranteed, but comprehensive cases do get taken.
- Veterans: VA dental care has its own eligibility classes based on service-connected conditions and other factors; veterans who qualify can receive substantial dental treatment at no cost. Check your eligibility class with the VA before pricing private care.
If none of these fit, the highest-leverage move remains the boring one: multiple itemized consultations, in writing, including at least one from a dental school clinic.
What to Expect: Timeline and Recovery
Understanding the full timeline is important for both financial planning and setting realistic expectations. Full-arch implant procedures are not a single appointment; they are a multi-month process.
Typical Timeline
Full-arch implant timeline at a glance
- Consultation and imaging (Week 1): Exam, CT scan, treatment planning, and financial discussion.
- Extractions and implant placement (Surgery day): Remaining teeth are extracted and implant posts are placed. A temporary prosthesis is typically fitted the same day or within a few days. The appointment is usually done under sedation.
- Healing and osseointegration (3–9 months): The implant posts fuse with the jawbone (Cleveland Clinic). You wear a temporary prosthesis during this period.
- Temporary adjustments (Multiple visits): Expect several follow-up appointments during healing for bite adjustments, wax try-ins, and temporary prosthesis modifications.
- Final prosthesis fabrication and placement (final appointments): Impressions or digital scans are taken, the final restoration is fabricated, and it is fitted and adjusted.
Total time from start to finish: the bone-fusion stage alone takes three to nine months, so plan for several months from consultation to final prosthesis, longer if complications arise. Same-day “teeth in a day” protocols exist for select candidates, but even these require months of follow-up before the final prosthesis is placed.
Recovery Realities
Patient experiences in dental communities paint a more nuanced picture of recovery than most clinic websites suggest:
- Pain: Most patients report that the surgery itself is less painful than expected (with proper sedation), but the days immediately following can involve significant swelling and discomfort. Over-the-counter pain relievers are sufficient for many patients; others require prescription pain medication for the first few days.
- Diet: Patients in our research file report 3–6 months or more of soft foods only while wearing temporaries. Many patients report difficulty getting adequate nutrition during this period.
- Temporary prosthetics: Temporaries are functional but often imperfect; they may feel bulky, look different from what you expected, or require multiple adjustments. Setting realistic expectations about temporaries helps avoid discouragement during the healing phase.
- Emotional adjustment: The transition from natural teeth (even damaged ones) to a prosthesis can be emotionally difficult. This is normal and well-documented in patient communities. Many patients describe the first few weeks as the hardest emotionally, followed by significant improvement once the final prosthesis is placed.
Evidence Receipt
- ClearChoice: its fixed and snap-in prices per arch come from its cost guide and pricing page (both linked in the short answer); its Endura zirconia arch average, what its per-arch price includes, its free consultation, its Colorado price disclosure and its CareCredit promotional terms come from its own site, including its Endura arch page. The per-arch prices are based on its 2025 internal data. The both-arches figure is our doubling of its fixed per-arch range.
- Other full-arch cost ranges come from CareCredit’s All-on-4 cost guide and Aspen Dental’s full-mouth cost page. The “What Patients Actually Paid” figures are patient reports collected for this guide’s research file (2021–2026, primarily r/dentures). Traditional-denture pricing is from Delta Dental; add-on ranges are from CareCredit (bone graft), Zocdoc (sinus lift, one Chicago practice), Gentle Dental (extraction), Delta Dental of Colorado’s fee schedule (interim dentures), NYU College of Dentistry (CT scan) and CareCredit’s cost tables (CT, sedation and anesthesia). The zirconia cost difference is from Barootchi et al., International Journal of Oral & Maxillofacial Implants, 2020 (linked above). Regional fees: the GAO’s 2013 report. Annual maximums: ADA News citing NADP data; implant coverage shares: Guardian and MetLife. Healing time, lifespans, jawbone shrinkage and complication risk: Cleveland Clinic; maintenance: the American Academy of Periodontology. The American College of Prosthodontists’ facts and figures page documents the scale of implant dentistry, including roughly 2.3 million implant-supported crowns made annually.
- Dental-school savings are sourced to a named school: the University of Colorado School of Dental Medicine lists its clinic rates as typically 30–50% below area private practices, and Penn Dental Medicine puts its costs at 50%–70% lower on average. Accredited programs are listed in the ADA’s CODA program finder.
- Medicare’s dental exclusion is stated on Medicare.gov’s dental services page: in most cases Medicare doesn’t cover dental services or items like dentures and implants, with narrow exceptions tied to covered medical treatments.
- HSA/FSA eligibility for dental treatment is documented in IRS Publication 502, which governs which medical and dental expenses qualify. The 30 percent average saving is FSAFEDS’ figure; the bracket examples are our arithmetic from the IRS 2026 brackets and payroll-tax rates, with the payroll-tax scope from IRS Publication 969.
- Discount-plan and dental-tourism savings are each source’s own estimate: Aetna Vital Savings (15% to 50% “in most cases”) and Patients Beyond Borders via the Academy of General Dentistry (2020).
- Donated Dental Services eligibility (65+, permanently disabled, or medically necessary care with no other means) is stated by Dental Lifeline Network, and HRSA’s health center finder locates sliding-scale clinics.
FAQ
What’s the difference between All-on-4 and snap-in dentures?
All-on-4 (also called All-on-X or fixed full-arch) is a permanent bridge screwed onto 4–6 implant posts. Only your dentist can remove it. Snap-in dentures (implant-supported overdentures) clip onto 2–6 implant posts and are removed daily by the patient for cleaning. ClearChoice lists fixed full-arch implants at $14,000–$36,000 per arch and snap-in dentures at $8,000–$13,500 per arch. All-on-4 feels more like natural teeth, while overdentures are easier to clean and less expensive but can feel bulkier.
Can I get dentures now and upgrade to implants later?
Yes, and many patients choose this staged approach to manage costs. Ask your surgeon about placing bone grafts during your initial extractions—your jawbone shrinks after teeth are lost (Cleveland Clinic), and implants need enough bone to anchor in, so plan for implants early rather than late. Implants placed for an overdenture can sometimes be converted to support a fixed bridge later, but the number and positions of implants that suit a removable denture may not suit a fixed bridge. Discuss this with your provider upfront.
How much do All-on-4 implants cost for both arches?
ClearChoice prices full-arch work per arch, as does Aspen Dental, so both arches (upper and lower) come to roughly double the per-arch figure: its $14,000–$36,000 per arch makes roughly $28,000–$72,000 for upper and lower (our arithmetic). CareCredit’s $15,176 All-on-4 national average doesn’t say whether it covers one arch or both. The range depends on the number of implants per arch, whether you need bone grafting or sinus lifts, the material of the final prosthesis (acrylic vs. zirconia), and your geographic location. Patient reports in our research file include $27,000 for both arches at a larger dental chain, alongside one commenter’s estimate that people they know paid $20,000–$40,000 (arch count not specified); private specialty practices quote higher.
How long do full-mouth dental implants last?
Cleveland Clinic says that with brushing, flossing and regular dental visits, implants can often last a lifetime. The prosthesis on top wears out sooner: Cleveland Clinic says most crowns and bridges last around 15 years and most dentures at least seven years, though timelines vary. Ask your provider about warranty and replacement terms. Overdenture attachments (O-rings or locator caps) also need periodic replacement. Plan for ongoing maintenance: the American Academy of Periodontology notes that implants “require conscientious at-home oral care and regular dental visits to preserve function and prevent peri-implant disease.”
How much do implants cost for just the upper arch?
A single arch (upper or lower) carries the per-arch pricing: at ClearChoice, roughly $14,000–$36,000 for a fixed full-arch restoration (the All-on-4/All-on-6 type) or $8,000–$13,500 for a snap-in denture. One detailed community breakdown in our research file put a snap-in overdenture at $6,000–$15,000 per arch, depending on implant count. One wrinkle specific to the upper jaw: upper overdentures are usually most predictable with 4–6 implants rather than the 2 that can anchor a lower overdenture (the guidance a verified dental professional gave in our research threads), which pushes upper snap-in costs toward the top of their range. Sinus lifts ($1,500–$3,500 at one Chicago practice, per Zocdoc) are also far more common for upper-arch work.
Is full mouth reconstruction the same as full mouth implants?
No. “Full mouth reconstruction” is a broader term for rebuilding a whole dentition using whatever combination the case needs (crowns, bridges, veneers, orthodontics, and sometimes implants), often while keeping many natural teeth. Full-mouth implant treatment (this guide) replaces all teeth in an arch with an implant-supported prosthesis. Reconstruction cases are priced tooth by tooth and procedure by procedure, so their totals vary even more widely than implant cases; the $80,000–$100,000+ quotes in our research file came from a complex full-mouth restoration case where the treatment mix wasn’t specified, which is exactly the kind of case-by-case pricing reconstruction involves.
Is dental tourism a good option for full-mouth implants?
It can cost less: Patients Beyond Borders, cited by the Academy of General Dentistry, estimated savings on dental care of 40%–65% in Mexico and 45%–65% in Costa Rica. But full-arch implant procedures require months of follow-up visits that are difficult to manage from another country. Cleveland Clinic calls the complication risk minimal with an experienced surgeon, but if one arises you need a dentist you can reach quickly. If you pursue dental tourism, factor in the cost of multiple international trips, verify the provider’s credentials and implant system (so local dentists can service it), and have a relationship with a local dentist who is willing to manage follow-up care. Patients in online communities have mixed experiences: some report excellent results, while others express significant anxiety about being far from their provider when problems arise.
This article is for informational purposes only and does not constitute medical or dental advice. Prices cited are estimates based on publicly available data and patient-reported costs from 2021–2026; they may vary by location and provider. Always consult your dentist for advice regarding your specific treatment options and costs.