400+ Products Compared

All-on-4 Dental Implants Cost in 2026: Procedure, Pricing & What to Expect

By Maitiú at Dental Roundup, published May 25, 2026.

Last revised September 23, 2026.

The short answer

$15,176
National average (CareCredit)
$11,640–$27,500
Range (CareCredit)
$28,000–$72,000
Both arches, twice ClearChoice's per-arch range
Often lifetime
Implant lifespan (Cleveland Clinic)
3–9 months
For the jawbone to fuse around implants (Cleveland Clinic)

CareCredit's All-on-4 figures come from ASQ360° 2024 survey data; its guide describes All-on-4 as replacing the teeth in one jaw but does not label the figure per arch. ClearChoice's published price for a fixed full arch (4 to 6 implants) is $14,000–$36,000 per arch, so both arches come to roughly $28,000–$72,000 (our doubling). CareCredit says the price varies with the material used, whether you need extra implants and your surgeon's experience.

Prices: CareCredit (ASQ360° 2024 survey); ClearChoice cost guide (2025 internal data). Lifespan and timeline: Cleveland Clinic.

The Short Answer

All-on-4 dental implants have a national average cost of $15,176 in the United States, ranging from $11,640 to $27,500, according to CareCredit, which does not say whether that is per arch. Two providers publish per-arch prices: ClearChoice puts fixed full-arch implants (4 to 6 implants) at $14,000–$36,000 per arch, and Aspen Dental says its patients pay an average of $19,979 per arch (range $19,315–$30,878). Both are a provider’s own price list, not a neutral survey. Doubled for both arches (our arithmetic, not a quote), that is roughly $28,000–$72,000 and $38,600–$61,800 respectively. The procedure uses four strategically angled implant posts to support a full arch of fixed replacement teeth, and in many cases, you leave the office with a temporary set of teeth the same day as surgery.

For a comparison of all full-arch options (including overdentures and All-on-6), see our full-mouth dental implants cost guide. For general implant pricing covering single-tooth and bridge options, see our complete dental implants cost guide.

According to the American Academy of Implant Dentistry (AAID), dental implants have been used for half a century and are considered safe and effective.

How All-on-4 Works

The All-on-4 design tilts the two rear implants so they can anchor in the bone toward the front of the jaw, which is meant to reduce the need for bone grafting; whether you still need a graft depends on what your scan shows.

Here is what the procedure involves:

  • Four implant posts per arch are placed into the jawbone: two vertical posts near the front and two angled posts near the back, tilted to make use of the bone you have.
  • Immediate loading means a temporary prosthesis (usually made from PMMA acrylic) is attached to the implants the same day as surgery. This is the “teeth in a day” part of the marketing—and it is technically accurate.
  • What “teeth in a day” actually means is that you leave with a functional temporary arch on surgery day. These temporaries allow you to eat soft foods and smile in public while your implants heal. However, they are not your final teeth. The permanent prosthesis (typically zirconia) is fabricated and placed once the implants have fused with your jawbone (a process called osseointegration), which takes three to nine months, per Cleveland Clinic.
  • The PMMA-to-zirconia conversion is often the part that surprises patients most. During the healing period, you will wear temporaries that may feel bulky, look slightly different from what you expected, and require multiple adjustment visits. In the patient threads we read, the temporaries drew more complaints than the surgery itself: “The teeth were HUGE. Like so big they had trouble fitting them in my mouth,” one patient wrote.

In the patient threads we read, surgery was done under sedation (often oral conscious sedation with Halcion), and most patients found it less painful than expected; the main discomfort was three to seven days of swelling afterward.

All-on-4 Cost Breakdown

The total cost of an All-on-4 procedure includes multiple components, and not every provider quotes them the same way. Here is what to expect:

All-on-4 and full-arch costs, plus common add-ons

$0$40,000
All-on-4· CareCredit range, $15,176 average; arches not stated
$11,640–$27,500
Fixed full arch, 4 to 6 implants· per arch, ClearChoice's own price guide
$14,000–$36,000
Fixed full arch (Aspen Dental)· per arch, Aspen Dental's own prices, $19,979 average
$19,315–$30,878
Bone grafting (if needed)· per graft, by graft type, national averages (CareCredit)
$549–$5,148
3D CT scan (planning)· NYU dental school $200–$300 per scan; CareCredit national average $466
$200–$466
Extractions (if needed)· surgical, per tooth
$150–$650

Source: All-on-4: CareCredit (ASQ360° 2024). Full arch: ClearChoice (2025), Aspen Dental (2026). Bone graft: CareCredit. CT scan: NYU College of Dentistry, CareCredit. Extractions: Gentle Dental.

For a socket graft placed at extraction, Zocdoc’s Chicago prices start at $300; our bone graft cost guide breaks down each type. For the day-one temporary arch, Delta Dental of Colorado’s Patient Direct fee schedule lists an implant-supported interim fixed denture at $1,511 per arch (a discounted member price at participating general dentists). ClearChoice counts its day-one teeth in its per-arch price and says its consultation, including the 3D CT scan, is free.

Some providers advertise “all-inclusive” pricing that bundles extractions, imaging, temporaries, and the permanent prosthesis. Others quote a lower headline price that excludes bone grafting, sedation, or the final restoration. Always request an itemized treatment plan that specifies exactly what is and isn’t included; this is the single most important step in comparing quotes.

Ask at your appointment

“Can I see an itemized treatment plan that lists every component (implant posts, temporary arch, permanent arch, extractions, bone grafting, sedation and imaging) with a price for each?”

Providers quote differently: 'all-inclusive' bundles vary, and a lower headline price often excludes major items.

Patients on Reddit reported paying $27,000 for both arches at Affordable Dentures & Implants, $30,000 at a Texas private practice, and $34,000 at a private practice that included a lifetime warranty. Quotes can run far higher: one patient reported a $44,000 quote for the upper arch alone (All-on-7).

All-on-4 vs All-on-6: Which Costs More and Why?

All-on-6 adds two implant posts per arch, but neither provider prices six implants separately from four: ClearChoice’s single $14,000 to $36,000 per arch range covers 4 to 6 implants, and Aspen Dental says a full-mouth restoration typically uses 2 to 6 implants per arch.

The clinical reasons for choosing All-on-6 over All-on-4 include:

  • Larger jaws where four implants may not provide enough support across the full arch length
  • Patients with adequate bone density who can accommodate more implants without grafting
  • Reduced cantilever stress: “The farther the teeth extend behind the last implant, the more leverage you create on screws and frameworks,” as one experienced commenter put it. More implants can shorten that overhang (the cantilever).

One patient in the threads we read was planned for six implants on top but got four, because the bone would not support six. The right number depends on your jaw anatomy, so ask your surgeon why they are recommending four or six.

For patients with severe bone loss who cannot support standard implants, zygomatic implants anchor into the cheekbone instead of the jawbone. This avoids bone grafting entirely but is a more complex surgery, performed by oral surgeons with specialized training. CareCredit puts zygomatic implants at a national average of $3,918 (range $3,018–$7,357; unit not stated, so not a whole-arch price); ask for a written quote for the full treatment.

Arch Material: Zirconia vs Acrylic

The material of your final prosthesis is one of the biggest decisions (and one of the largest cost variables) in the All-on-4 process.

Zirconia (ceramic): Zirconia arches are milled from a single block of ceramic material. They are stronger, more stain-resistant, and look more like natural teeth than acrylic. Patients who choose zirconia for a permanent arch tend to describe it as the premium option, picked because they “wanted something that would last”. ClearChoice quotes an average nationwide price of $22,045 for its zirconia Endura arch, based on a treatment plan, within its cost guide’s per-arch range. One poster sharing a finished zirconia full arch in a dental community wrote: “Made this zirconia full arch a few months prior. Very happy with the turn out.”

Acrylic (PMMA): Acrylic is the standard material for temporary prosthetics and some budget-friendly permanent restorations. It is lighter, easier to repair, and less expensive, but more prone to staining, chipping, and wear over time. Because it wears faster, a permanent acrylic arch is more likely than zirconia to need replacing.

The practical difference: Zirconia is a monolithic material: one solid piece that resists chipping and staining. Acrylic is layered, and the individual teeth are set into a pink acrylic base. Acrylic arches can be repaired chairside if a tooth chips; zirconia repairs typically require lab work or a full replacement. However, zirconia rarely needs repair in the first place.

In the threads we read, patients who could afford it tended to choose zirconia for the permanent arch. Aspen Dental calls zirconia “the most durable and natural-looking but also the most expensive” option, so ask each provider for both prices and how often they expect each material to need replacing: an acrylic arch that has to be remade can close the gap over time.

ClearChoice vs Private Practice

ClearChoice pricing: this chain of dental implant centers is frequently the first name patients encounter when researching All-on-4. Its cost guide puts fixed full-arch implants at $14,000 to $36,000 per arch; on Reddit, patients call it common but expensive and mention $25,000–$35,000 per arch. The guide includes the consultation, 3D CBCT scan, implants and abutments, sedation, extractions if needed, day-one teeth and the final arch in one price at one location. This “one-stop” approach appeals to patients who want a streamlined experience without coordinating between a surgeon and a prosthodontist.

Private practice pricing varies more widely, depending on the provider’s experience, your geographic area, and the materials used. Patients on Reddit reported paying $30,000 and $34,000 for both arches at private practices. Some private practices match or beat the chain’s prices while offering more personalized care; others charge more for premium materials or specialist expertise.

What the dental community says: In the threads we read, one patient treated at the chain reported “ZERO complaints but one”: that their driver had to stay all day. Complaints about hard selling were about full-arch quotes in general, not one chain: “Every dentist wants to hard sell All-on-4, 28 to 34K per arch,” one patient wrote.

DSO (dental service organization) red flags: Large chain dental offices that quote well above the published ranges on this page while aggressively pushing financing deserve scrutiny. In dental communities, patients warn each other about hard-sell full-arch quotes; one patient who chose a private practice wrote: “I did go there for quotes (Aspen and Affordable) I didn’t choose them based on posts here.” Getting at least three quotes (including at least one from a private practice prosthodontist) is essential.

This doesn’t mean all chains deliver poor results. In the threads we read, patients also reported good results at ClearChoice and at an Affordable Dentures & Implants location. The key is comparing itemized quotes, not headline prices.

“Can I take this itemized quote home to compare with other providers before I commit to financing?”

Patients in the threads we read describe hard-sell full-arch quotes; a take-home quote lets you compare calmly.

Does Insurance Cover All-on-4?

Dental insurance coverage for All-on-4 is minimal, and understanding this upfront prevents costly surprises.

  • Annual maximums on most dental plans run $1,000–$2,500: ADA News, citing NADP data, reports that 32.8% of in-network annual maximums fall between $1,000 and $1,500 and 48.2% between $1,500 and $2,500. That covers only a small share of even one arch.
  • Coverage classification varies by plan. Some classify implants as a “major procedure”: Guardian says many full-coverage plans may cover 40–50% of implant costs, after deductibles and up to the annual maximum, and MetLife says its PPO plan may cover 50%. Others leave implants out: Cigna notes that most dental plans either exclude implants altogether or cover only part of the cost. Ask whether your plan has a waiting period before major-procedure coverage starts.
  • Medical insurance is worth asking about if you lost teeth through an accident or a medical treatment. Whether it pays anything depends on your plan, so ask your medical insurer for a written decision before treatment starts.
  • Plan-year timing: Humana describes the annual maximum as a per-year amount, so ask whether your provider can stage treatment across two plan years (extractions in one, implants in the next) and whether your plan would pay toward each stage.

Timeline: What to Actually Expect

The “teeth in a day” marketing is technically accurate for surgery day. But the full All-on-4 process spans months, and understanding the real timeline helps you plan financially and set realistic expectations.

The All-on-4 timeline at a glance

1
Day 1: Surgery Day
2
Weeks 1–3: Early Recovery
3
Months 1–9: Healing Period
4
After 3–9 Months: Permanent Arch
Final zirconia prosthesis fabricated and fitted
5
Year 1+: Ongoing Maintenance

Day 1: Surgery Day

Remaining teeth are extracted, four implant posts are placed, and a temporary PMMA arch is attached, all under sedation. One patient said the clinic “really should specify your driver has to stay ALL DAY.” You leave the office with functional teeth—but a swollen face and strict dietary restrictions. Patients in the threads we read mostly describe the surgery as easier than expected: “WAAAAAY less pain discomfort than I thought!! Most annoying is the swollen face,” the same patient wrote.

Weeks 1–3: Early Recovery

Patients most often describe three to seven days of significant swelling and discomfort. Soft foods only: soups, mashed potatoes, scrambled eggs, smoothies. Some patients have difficulty speaking clearly (lisping); one wrote that at six weeks in they still had trouble forming words without lisping. One patient, 1.5 years in, wrote: “I have had a couple bone spurs I’ve had to go back and remove.”

Months 1–9: Healing Period

You wear your temporary prosthesis while the implants fuse with your jawbone (osseointegration), which takes three to nine months, per Cleveland Clinic, with your provider checking your progress periodically. Expect follow-up visits for bite adjustments; one patient went in four times over three weeks for wax try-ins. The size of the temporaries is one of the most common surprises in the threads we read: “They just look so big like I’m wearing a mouth guard,” one patient wrote the day after surgery.

After 3–9 Months: Permanent Arch

Once healing is confirmed, impressions or digital scans are taken for your permanent prosthesis. The lab then makes the final arch (typically zirconia), which is fitted and adjusted, sometimes over more than one visit, to get the bite exactly right. Even dentists can need more than one attempt: one sharing a full-arch case they made wrote, “This was the third set of fixtures actually due to a bad bite record.”

Year 1+: Ongoing Maintenance

Regular professional visits are part of the deal: the American Academy of Periodontology says implants “require conscientious at-home oral care and regular dental visits to preserve function and prevent peri-implant disease.” An experienced commenter in the threads we read advised “scheduled recalls where they can remove the bridge, clean, inspect, re-torque.” For daily cleaning around and under the arch, a water flosser came up again and again in those threads: “The upkeep is so easy, just using a water flosser, brushing like normal and mouth wash,” one patient wrote. If you grind or clench, one experienced commenter’s advice was blunt: “If you clench or grind, a properly made hard guard is cheap insurance. You cannot out-willpower sleep bruxism.”

FAQ

Is All-on-4 painful?

Patients in the threads we read mostly found the surgery far less painful than they expected. Oral conscious sedation with Halcion came up often; one patient wrote: “by the time I was in the dentist’s chair I was smiling and happy… I honestly have very few memories at all from the surgery.” IV sedation and general anesthesia are also used. CareCredit puts sedation at an average of $349 and anesthesia at $639, though ClearChoice’s Colorado price notice lists both at no additional charge within a full-arch treatment plan. One patient called the healing “basically painless. A little soreness here and there”; ask your surgeon what pain relief to plan for. In those threads, the emotional adjustment (coming to terms with losing natural teeth and adapting to a prosthesis) often weighed more than the physical pain.

How long do All-on-4 implants last?

According to Cleveland Clinic, implants can often last a lifetime with brushing, flossing and regular dental visits, and most crowns and bridges last around 15 years (no figure for a full-arch prosthesis). The prosthesis lifespan depends on the material: Aspen Dental calls zirconia the most durable option, while acrylic wears faster and is more likely to need replacing. The screws connecting the arch to the implants may need retightening; an experienced commenter advised recalls where the dentist can “remove the bridge, clean, inspect, re-torque.” One patient 1.5 years in wrote: “NOT thinking about them has been the biggest blessing… I forget half the time too.” Another patient’s lower arch went seven years before an infection caused bone loss, a reminder that daily care and recalls matter.

Can All-on-4 fail?

Yes. Cleveland Clinic calls the healing phase, when the jawbone fuses to the implant, “critical for stability and long-term success.” In the 50 patient threads we reviewed, four or five were failure stories, among mostly positive experiences. Those failures traced to infection during healing, teeth grinding or clenching (bruxism), poor implant placement or treatment planning, and hardware problems. An experienced commenter summarized prevention well: “Screws rarely go from perfect to snapped in one bite. They loosen first. A little movement, a click, a new sore spot… That is the golden window. Stop chewing on that side and call.” One patient whose upper implants failed from infection still wrote: “Even with the failure, I would still do it all again twice.”

Is dental tourism safe for All-on-4?

It can cost less. Patients Beyond Borders, a medical-tourism company cited by the Academy of General Dentistry, estimates US patients save 40% to 65% on dental care in general (not All-on-4 specifically) in Mexico. One Reddit commenter put both arches in Los Algodones, Mexico, at $18,000–$22,000, and one patient was quoted €20,000 including zirconia in Portugal, against the $27,000, $30,000 and $34,000 US patients on Reddit reported paying for both arches (see above). However, full-arch implant procedures require months of follow-up visits: temporary adjustments, bite checks, healing verification, and final prosthesis fabrication and fitting. Managing these from another country introduces logistical and clinical risks. Patient experiences with dental tourism are mixed: some report excellent results, while one described a first Mexico dentist who “did a horrible job” and a second clinic that had to fix and replace the work. If you pursue this route, research the provider thoroughly, ask “if they use authentic components (Nobel, Straumann, etc.) or third-party compatible parts,” as one experienced commenter advised, and budget for multiple trips.

What’s the difference between All-on-4 and snap-in dentures?

All-on-4 is a fixed prosthesis: screwed onto implants and only removable by a dentist. Snap-in dentures (implant-supported overdentures) clip onto implants and are removed daily by the patient for cleaning. All-on-4 feels more like natural teeth, allows full bite force, and covers less of the palate. Snap-in dentures are less expensive ($8,000–$13,500 in ClearChoice’s cost guide), easier to clean, and can be a good stepping stone; many patients start with snap-ins and upgrade to fixed later. For a full comparison, see our full-mouth dental implants cost guide.


This article is for informational purposes only and does not constitute medical or dental advice. Prices cited come from the sources linked above, including CareCredit’s survey data and two implant providers’ published prices, plus patient-reported costs; they may vary by location and provider. Always consult your dentist for advice regarding your specific treatment options and costs.

Popular on Dental Roundup